This is the logo for CHME 2017


Steffen Hedebrandt

Steffen Hedebrandt is currently obsessing about growth and customer experiences as Head of Marketing at

Before that, he worked more than three years as Country Manager – Nordics for (formerly Elance and oDesk).

He’s extra-ordinary Growth Hacker and Digital Marketer, who’s passionate about the internet and entrepreneurship and have a rich experience within both small and larger startups.

Besides his role at Airtame, he’s an active blogger and thought leader. In Børsen, the largest business newspaper in Denmark, he has his own blog, while also having been featured in publications and medias like The Guardian, Engadget,, Berlingske, Aftenposten and SRF.

Furthermore, he has an extensive network within the Nordic Startup scene, where he act as an Advisor and Jury member to a bunch of startup related associations like Venture Cup, Nordic Startup Awards, Danish Crowdsourcing Association, KPH Accelerator, KaosPilot and DEA.

Dr Alison McIntosh

Dr Alison McIntosh is Professor of Tourism & Hospitality Management at Waikato Management School, University of Waikato, New Zealand.

Alison’s successful academic career has spanned over 20 years and her main research interests are in critical approaches to tourism and hospitality studies, with particular focus on issues of social justice, ethics and advocacy, and community engagement. She assumed the Chair or the Department of Tourism & Hospitality Management at the University of Waikato in 2012 and Convenor of Research Ethics within the Waikato Management School. She currently also holds a Visiting Professor position at Edinburgh Napier University, Scotland. She Co-Founded and is Co-Editor of the international journal Hospitality & Society. She has published widely in leading international tourism and hospitality journals and in 2014 was awarded both the Waikato Management School’s Leading Researcher Award and the Outstanding Teacher Award.


Alison holds current and previous Directorships of community organisations, and regularly engages in community work. She is Co-Founder and Co-Convenor of the Waikato Management School’s Network for Community Hospitality – a research network which brings together charities, the third sector and academics to share resources, knowledge and support each other around New Zealand’s social issues. Her most recent project aims to increase employment for people with disabilities in the tourism and hospitality industries in New Zealand.

Professor Kaye Chon

Dean and Chair Professor

School of Hotel and Tourism Management

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

A former hotel manager and tourism industry consultant,


Kaye Chon (Ph.D., CHE, FIH) is Dean and Chair Professor of the School of Hotel and Tourism Management at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. Prior to being appointed as Dean, Dean Chon has assumed the roles of Director and Chair Professor of the School of Hotel and Tourism Management since year 2000

In his university teaching that spans close to 30 years, Dean Chon twice received “Teaching Excellence Award” and four times received “Research Excellence Award,” including the John Wiley & Sons Award and Howard B. Meek Award from International CHRIE, Martin Oppermann Memorial Award from the International Society of Travel & Tourism Educators (ISTTE), Michael D. Olsen Award from the University of Delaware, and Founders Award in Research from Purdue University and the University of South Carolina, all for his lifetime contribution to scholarship and research in tourism/hospitality. In 2003, he received the prestigious FTA Hospitality Humanitarian Leadership Award from Fred Tibbitts and Associates of New York for his leadership and community services in global hospitality industry development. In 2003, Dean Chon was also recognised by his alma mater Georgia State University as the “Most Outstanding Alumni in 30 Years”. He is honoured by the United Nations World Tourism Organisation (UNWTO) with the prestigious UNWTO Ulysses Prize 2011.

Dean Chon is the past Chairman of the International Society of Travel and Tourism Educators and currently member of the Executive Board of Pacific Asia Travel Association.